Journey to Bethlehem Coming to Chillicothe’s Calvary Baptist Church

Presented by Atomic Speedway & Chillicothe VAMC

Calvary Baptist Church announces that on December 10th and 11th, will be hosting “Journey To Bethlehem”, a drive thru nativity experience with live characters and carolers, beginning at 6:00 p.m. to 8:00 p.m. both evenings.

Calvary Baptist Church is located at 2486 Anderson Station Road, Chillicothe, Ohio.

Giving Tuesday Follow Up; How You Can Still Help

Presented by Classic Brands

On the heels of Cyber Monday, there were a number of Giving Tuesday events held by many non-profit organizations.

One locally was by Steve Huggins, a board member with the Ross County Humane Society. His fundraiser was closing in on $8,000 of the $10,000 goal. On the Ivy’s Facebook Page, it was announced a donor is matching up to $50,000 all to help towards the RCHS’ fund to build a new shelter for dogs. CLICK HERE TO DONATE

United Way of Ross County was accepting donations to help Ross County residents in need. To donate, please visit

Through its Project Christmas, Paper City Coffee accepted monetary donations for their mentoring project in order to purchase each teen in their program a gift and Christmas dinner. They’re also accepting toiletry donations to make kits for local high school students in need.

In Columbus, it was all about restoring The Mighty Morton Organ at the Ohio Theatre. The Columbus Association for Performing Arts (CAPA) raised more than $5,000 toward the goal of restoring the organ which has 2,454 pipes and four keyboards (that’s 244 keys). The organ has been played before approximately 1,000 films during CAPA’s Summer Movie Series. CLICK HERE TO DONATE

Have another? Tell us about it in the comments below.

ADAMH Write In Red – Red Ribbon Week Essay Contest Winners Announced

Presented by McDonald’s, I’m Lovin’ It! and Ross-Chillicothe Convention & Visitors Bureau

Twenty nine students from local school districts are recipients of awards from the Paint Valley Alcohol Drug Addiction and Mental Health (ADAMH) Board released Tuesday.

The students participated in the Write in Red – Red Ribbon Week Essay Contest held the week of October 25-29.

“Each year the students provide absolutely the best essays, touching our hearts and opening our eyes as we realize how the environment impacts their lives” noted Paint Valley ADAMH Board Executive Director Penny Dehner.

The Paint Valley ADAMH Board service area includes twenty two school districts in Fayette, Highland, Pickaway, Pike and Ross Counties. Seventeen of the school districts participated in the contest. One student from each county was selected to receive a $500 scholarship to any accredited college or university. Each were also awarded a $100 prize for winning their school’s contest.

Top winners include – Alekae Mikyl Wilson of Miami Trace Middle School (Fayette County); Jaeden Olivia Drury, Fairfield Middle School (Highland County); Reighlyn Byerly, Westfall High School (Pickaway County); Skyla Nichols, Western Middle School (Pike County) and Hannah Louise Balusick, Huntington High School (Ross County).

“Dehner adds “It’s so energizing to see our youth take a proactive stand against drug, alcohol and tobacco abuse by sharing their personal stories, doing research into relevant issues and explain their determination to remain drug free.”

Students winning their school’s contests and receiving $100 include – Jenna Martin, Adena HS; Lydia Beery, Adena MS; Andrea Cougill, Chillicothe HS; Katelyn Gray, Chillicothe MS; Kyla Poorman, Eastern HS; Makala Espericueta, Fairfield HS; Mia Snyder, Greenfield McClain HS; Cade Raike, Greenfield McClain MS; Sarah Newsome, Hillsboro HS; Malachi Aber, Hillsboro MS; Nicholas Ray Hughes, Huntington MS; Matalyn Magee, Lynchburg Clay MS; Kennedy C. Jenkins, Piketon HS; Briar Penwell, Piketon MS; Avery Baker, Southeastern HS; Ameryss Ware Southeastern MS; Elliott McHenry, Unioto HS; Brayden Botts, Unioto MS; Aiden Elliott, White Oak HS; Gabriel Ulrey, White Oak MS; Eric Patton, Waverly HS; Kacie R. Schuyler, Western HS; Grace Jenkins, Zane Trace HS.

Local Students Among Day 2 of Vax-2-School Scholarship Winners

Presented by Hometown-Motors, Inc. and Accurate Heating, Cooling & Plumbing

The State of Ohio’s Vax-2-School scholarship program produced some local recipients among the second day of announcements.

Those selected are drawn from a pool of Covid-19 vaccinated Ohio students aged 5-25 registered for $10,000 scholarships.

Tuesday’s announcements, made on the State’s promotional Twitter site #OhioVax2School, had some hits in South Central Ohio. Among them, Chillicothe’s Erin Kulhanek, Colsen Oyer of Jackson and Bryce Bennett from Washington Court House.

There will be a total of one hundred fifty $10,000 scholarships and $100,000 scholarships for five grand prize winners.