Scioto Trails State Forest Culverts To Be Replaced

Presented By Accurate Heating, Cooling & Plumbing

(Chillicothe) – As part of the Ohio Department of Transportation—District 9’s Planning Department, the district’s Environmental Office is seeking public input for a project to replace multiple culverts on forest roads in Scioto Trails State Forest.

ROS – Scioto Trails State Forest Culverts (PID: 111168) – A total of 114 culverts will be replaced on State Forest Roads 4 and 6 in Scioto Trail State Forest. All replacement culverts will be between 18-48 inches in diameter and will range from 23 feet to 50 feet in length.

Other work around the culverts/headwalls will consist of placing minimal amounts of rock channel protection and incidental pavement or gravel surface repairs.All work will be completed from the existing roadway.

No new right-of-way will be needed for the project.No homes or businesses will be removed by the project.

The roadway will be closed for the duration of the project. The detour will be determined at a later date.The funding for the project is 100% State. The project is currently expected to be awarded 6/6/2022.

Written comments should be submitted by February 26, 2022, or the deadline date that is posted on the web site, to: Greg Manson, ODOT District 9 Environmental Supervisor, 650 Eastern Avenue, Chillicothe, Ohio 45601 E-Mail:

Youth Mental Health & Addiction Care Grants Awarded To Area Counties

Presented By Atomic Speedway

(Columbus)—Ohio Governor Mike DeWine has announced that $14.9 million in American Rescue Plan (ARPA) Supplemental Block Grants funds will be used to help strengthen Ohio’s statewide mental health and addiction care services system, specifically in the areas of youth prevention and early intervention services.

“We know that 75% of substance use disorders and mental illness begin before the age of 25, and prevention and early intervention strategies are vital to building resilience and opportunities for long-term health,” said Governor Mike DeWine. “These dollars will make key investments in substance use disorder and mental health prevention programs and treatment services to help Ohioans live their best and healthiest lives.”

“Through close partnerships and collaborations with our community partners, these investments will be targeted in ways that facilitate more responsive, agile, and effective interventions supporting lifelong health and recovery for all Ohioans,” said Ohio Department of Mental Health and Addiction Services (OhioMHAS) Director Lori Criss.

The funds will be distributed over the next four years and are broken down as follows:

Primary Prevention

  • $5M ($1.25M per year) for community coalitions and youth-led programs to address marijuana and alcohol prevention. These funds will be awarded on a competitive basis with a goal of reaching up to 250,000 individuals over the next four years.
  • $5.4M to support public health campaigns designed to enhance the perception of harm of alcohol and marijuana use.

Coordinated Specialty Care for First Episode Psychosis

  • $2.3M to fund two pilot First Episode Psychosis Coordinated Specialty Care Virtual Teams in year two and six additional teams in years three and four. Using telehealth to expand services, specialists at the Ohio State University Early Psychosis Intervention Center (EPICENTER) will provide medication management, psychotherapy, and family support and education. Individuals with first episode psychosis will access specific coordinated specialty care services through their local community mental health center (i.e., case management, education and vocational support and on-site nursing and medication management). EPICENTER will provide training and ongoing consultation.
  • $1.8M to mitigate losses for uncompensated care at 17 existing First Episode Psychosis/Early Serious Mental Illness teams in the following counties: Allen, Athens, Auglaize, Butler, Clermont, Coshocton, Cuyahoga, Delaware, Fairfield, Fayette, Franklin, Gallia, Greene, Guernsey, Hamilton, Hardin, Highland, Hocking, Jackson, Lorain, Lucas, Mahoning, Meigs, Montgomery, Morgan, Morrow, Muskingum, Noble, Perry, Pickaway, Pike, Portage, Ross, Stark, Summit, Trumbull, Vinton, Washington, Wood.
  • $307,926 for the purposes of adopting Healthcare, Outcomes, Network, Education (HONE) developed by Yale University to better collect outcomes on Ohio’s First Episode Psychosis clients.

As part of the ARPA block grant funding, OhioMHAS is also this month releasing $2.98 million in COVID mitigation funds to Ohio’s Alcohol, Drug Addiction and Mental Health Boards (ADAMH) to be used by boards and community behavioral health providers for COVID testing, PPE purchases, contact tracing, healthy environment maintenance, and other efforts to prevent spread of COVID-19, as well as for behavioral health services for individuals in short-term housing who are at elevated risk of contracting COVID. These are one-time allocations to Ohio’s ADAMH boards for local distribution.

“We know our front-line providers continue to struggle with the effects of the variants of COVID-19, and these funds will help them continue to provide critically needed services safely,” added Criss.

Earth Day 2022 Date Set For Chillicothe

Presented By Classic Brands

Organizers are asking area residents to save the date of April 23, 2022 for Earth Gathering in Chillicothe’s Yoctangee Park.

(Image: Earth Gathering)

The event will run from 11am-6pm.

Earth Gathering is a juried-invitational art festival with an Earth Day theme designed to enlighten, entertain, and inspire the public with Earth-friendly art, music, food, products, and ideas.

Many of the activities are centered around the lawn of the Pump House Center For the Arts, located in Yoctangee Park.

Bloom Carroll To Induct New Members In Athletic Hall of Fame

Presented By Chillicothe VAMC

Image Courtesy of Bloom Carroll Twitter

(Carroll)- The Bloom Carroll Athletic Hall of Fame Class of 2022 Induction Ceremony will take place on Saturday January 29th, prior to the varsity boys’ home basketball game against Hamilton Township. (Approximately 6:45pm-7:00pm)

Inductees will be Tami Cox (Ireland), John Baas, Robb Ingram, and Maggie Loeffler.

The Service Award goes to Choc Woods.