Write In Red Contest Winners Announced

Article Presented By Accurate Heating, Cooling & Plumbing

(Chillicothe) – The 9th annual “Write In Red” – Red Ribbon Week Essay Contest was conducted during Red Ribbon Week, October 24-28, for all middle and high school students in Fayette, Highland, Pickaway, Pike and Ross Counties. Students were given a red pen to write an essay for the contest about how to prevent drug, alcohol, and tobacco abuse. The Paint Valley ADAMH Board service area includes 22 school districts. 15 out of the 22 districts participated and sent in entries. One student from each county was selected to receive a $500 scholarship to any accredited college or university. 

We are pleased to announce that the following students were awarded a $100 prize for winning their school’s essay contest and a $500 scholarship for winning the county contest: 

  • Mason Hitchcock, Miami Trace Middle School – Fayette County
  • Carianna Dorsett, White Oak Middle School – Highland County 
  • Carli Hutchison, Teays Valley High School – Pickaway County
  • Carson Hawk, Western Middle School – Pike County 
  • Alli Tobert, Southeastern High School – Ross County 

Paint Valley ADAMH Board Executive Director, Penny Dehner, stated “Each year the students provide absolutely the best essays, touching our hearts and opening our eyes as we realize how the environment impacts their lives. It is so energizing to see our youth take a proactive stand against drug, alcohol and tobacco abuse by sharing their personal stories, doing research into relevant issues and explain their determination to remain drug free.” 

The following students were school winners and awarded $100 for the Write In Red Essay Contest:

  • Sydney Sanders, Fairfield High School
  • Secret Harvey, Fairfield Middle School
  • Gracie Bowers, Greenfield High School
  • Lillie Hogle, Greenfield Middle School
  • Jaelen Parcell, Hillsboro Middle School
  • Caden Faust, Lynchburg Clay High School
  • Riley Markey, Lynchburg Clay Middle School
  • Carly Stone, White Oak High School
  • Lillian Flugge, Eastern High School
  • Leah Rader, Eastern Middle School
  • Brent McGuire, Piketon High School
  • Caroline Crowson, Piketon Middle School
  • Jessie Vanderpool, Waverly High School
  • Roxanne Milar, Western High School
  • Sydnee Robinson, Adena High School
  • Gracie Caplinger, Adena Middle School
  • Madison Beard, Chillicothe High School
  • Gwyndalyn Sayers, Chillicothe Middle School
  • Jackson Kohls, Huntington High School