Finding the good in our communities

Lotz, Spruell & Smith: Named FAC Spring Sports Players of the Year

Article presented by Horizon

The All-Frontier Athletic Conference teams have been released for spring sports.

Players of the Year include Titus Lotz (Washington) for Baseball, Camryn Spruell (Hillsboro) for Softball and Landon Smith (Jackson) for Tennis.

Titus Lotz from his 2022 signing ceremony. The 2023 FAC Player of the Year is headed to Bowling Green. Photo credit: Washington Court House Schools

ALL-FAC BASEBALL: Lotz, a Bowling Green State University signee, is joined by Blue Lion teammates John Wall, Tanner Lemaster and Jonah Waters. Gaige Stuckey and Dillon Hyer represent Miami Trace. Other members include Noah Ernst, Gaven Jones and Ramey Wyant from Jackson along with Chillicothe’s Mason Brown and McClain’s Kaden Penwell.

Sophomore Camryn Spruell heads home following her 10th home run of the season. Photo credit: Alicia Spruell

ALL-FAC SOFTBALL: Spruell, a sophomore, leads the list of Indians for Softball. Kinsey Gilliland, Addison Huff and Halle Reveal are All-FAC for Hillsboro. Jackson’s Serenity Taylor, Maddie Wright and Skylar Hatfield; Julie Lemaster from Chillicothe; Miami Trace’s Delaney Thomas and Ella McCarty; and Lilly Shaw of Washington round out the team.

ALL-FAC BOYS TENNIS: Smith was the lone member from Jackson on the All-FAC Tennis Team. The rest of the members are Chillicothe’s Kaiden Koch, Asher Pendell and Allison Remley; Jonah Goddard, Jacob Cline, Robbie Bennett and Carter Bainter from Miami Trace; with Mason Mullins and Blake Bagheri from Washington.

ALL-FAC TRACK & FIELD: The conference standouts were determined by the champions of their respective events during the FAC Meet held at Hillsboro High School May 9th and 11th.

Field Events (Girls listed, then Boys): Shot Put – Lilly Barnes (McClain) and Trent Evans (Jackson); Discus – Lilly Barnes (McClain) and Michael Stevenson (McClain); Long Jump – Aysha Haney (Washington) and Jack Wagoner (Hillsboro); High Jump – Mylie Lovett (McClain) and Steven Kibler (Hillsboro); Pole Vault – Becca Bergstrom (McClain) and Brice Perkins (Miami Trace). Running Events: 4×800 Relay – (Hillsboro) Jailyn Williams, Ramsey Haines, Brooklyn Minto, Taylor Thoroman and (Hillsboro) Nick Turner, Chris Sowders, Ryan Howland, Tate Davis; 100 Hurdles – Jacey Harding (Chillicothe) and Paris Nelson (Washington); 100 Dash – Kaelin Pfeifer (Miami Trace) and Rocky Jones (Washington); 4×200 Relay – (Miami Trace) Mary Pfeifer, Sydney Martin, Kamika Bennett, Kaelin Pfeifer and (Chillicothe) Mamo Willison, Aaron Valentine, Myles Lewis, Lucas Rinehart; 1600 Run – Alana McKenzie (Chillicothe) and Daniel Hurff (Chillicothe); 4×100 Relay – (Miami Trace) Mary Pfeifer, Sydney Martin, Jana Griffith, Kaelin Pfeifer and (Chillicothe) Myles Lewis, Mamo Willison, Michael Hicks, Shawn Smith; 400 Dash – Kiera Archer (Chillicothe) and Lucas Rinehart (Chillicothe); 300 Hurdles – Jana Griffith (Miami Trace) and Cameron Smart (Hillsboro); 800 Run – Jailyn Williams (Hillsboro) and Nick Turner (Hillsboro); 200 Dash – Kiera Archer (Chillicothe) and Mason Coffman (Washington); 3200 Run – Katherine McCallum (Chillicothe) and Daniel Hurff (Chillicothe); 4x4oo Relay – (Washington) Morgan Cartwright, Kierstyn Mitchell, Megan Mongold, Allie Mongold and (Chillicothe) Mamo WIllison, Mattew McCorkle, Myles Lewis, Lucas Rinehart.

About Author