Finding the good in our communities

Two Area HS Coaches Named On OHSAA Sportsmanship List

The Ohio High School Athletic Association’s new brand logo, release July 2022. Courtesy OHSAA

Article Presented By Tomlinson Insurance…

(OHSAA) – Throughout the 2022-23 school year, the coaches associations of the sports sanctioned by the Ohio High School Athletic Association selected one of their own for an OHSAA Sportsmanship, Ethics and Integrity Award. Individuals selected reflect the values of sportsmanship, ethics and integrity through their professional responsibilities and are role models for student-athletes and others. 

Two area coaches in Aaron Lemaster of Zane Trace High School Golf and Terry Hale of Vinton County High School Golf were included in the list of honorees.

The OHSAA is proud to recognize the following coaches who received OHSAA Sportsmanship, Ethics and Integrity Awards during the 2022-23 school year. They include:

2022-23 OHSAA Sportsmanship, Ethics and Integrity Winners

Girls Sports

Golf: Aaron Lemaster, Chillicothe Zane Trace & Linda Kessler, Fairfield

Cross Country: Paul Jones, Bascom Hopewell-Loudon

Volleyball: Mark Bunn, Van Buren

Soccer: Elizabeth Webb, Ashland Crestview

Field Hockey: Kara Whitlatch, Bexley

Swimming and Diving: Mark Sullivan, Mason

Bowling: Dennis Gordon, Bowerston Conotton Valley

Gymnastics: Liz Wojtkun, Parma Heights Holy Name

Wrestling: Will be announced in 2023-24

Basketball: Tyler McIlwraith, Cincinnati Seven Hills

Tennis: Jim Pukys, Canton McKinley

Track and Field: Frank Monk, Minerva

Softball: Rob Nelson, Lima Senior

Lacrosse: Will be announced in 2023-24

Boys Sports

Golf: Jeff Rinkes, Duncan Falls Philo & Terry Hale, McArthur Vinton County

Cross Country: Bob Donelson, Oberlin Firelands

Soccer: David Antal, Copley

Football: Steve Hale, Olentangy Liberty

Swimming and Diving: Eric Peterson, Shaker Heights

Bowling: Bob Bobbitt, Beavercreek

Ice Hockey: Cliff Browne, Findlay

Wrestling: Chad Marzec, Findlay Liberty-Benton

Basketball: Jeff Lisath, Dayton Northridge

Tennis: Taylor Long, Ashland

Track and Field: Shawn Valloric, Bellaire

Baseball: David Burkett, Massillon Tuslaw

Volleyball: Zahra Collins, Toledo Scott

Lacrosse: Jake Kubasta, Medina

About Author