Chillicothe-Ross Community Foundation Awards $69,766 in Local Scholarships

Article Presented By Horizon Connects

The Ross-Chillicothe Community Foundation presented $69,766 in scholarships to area high school seniors in 2022. Here is the list of recipients:

Adena High School Alumni Association Scholarship Fund

Ruth Beery – Adena
Carter Glandon – Adena

Brent Davis Scholarship Fund

Cecil Roll – Zane Trace
Emma Corcoran – Zane Trace

Chillicothe Bicentennial Scholars Fund

Emma Barnes – Chillicothe
Maylee Young – Chillicothe

Clyde and Grace Moss Scholarship Fund

Aiden Cunningham – Chillicothe

Ed Umsted Memorial Scholarship Fund

Marissa Mullins – Westfall
Carmen Corcoran – Zane Trace
Kaleigh Spires – Logan Elm
Taylor Dearth – Unioto
Josiah Paul – Logan Elm

Huntington High School Scholarship Fund

Harmony Henneberger – Huntington

Kelly Downs Memorial Scholarship Fund

Alexis Bailes – Southeastern

Lewis D and Misty T Ewry and Friends Scholarship Fund

Trenton Mettler – Paint Valley

Mary Margaret Black Scholarship Fund

Emily Howie – Ross County Christian Academy
Roman Salomone – Paint Valley

Norman R. Cutright Scholarship for Paint Valley Graduates

Carley Smith – Paint Valley

Roy A. Congrove Memorial Scholarship Fund

Carter Hill – Zane Trace
Brayden Jarrell – Zane Trace
Emily Allen – Zane Trace
Andrew Parker – Zane Trace

Terry Frey Scholarship Fund

Carmen Corcoran – Zane Trace
Andrew Parker – Zane Trace
Cecil Roll – Zane Trace

Zane Trace Pete Dunkle Fund

Hannah Pickerrell – Zane Trace
Cecil Roll – Zane Trace

Amelia Benner Scholarship Fund for Paint Valley Graduates

Brenton Ewry – Paint Valley
McKenzie Anderson – Paint Valley
Carley Smith – Paint Valley
Roman Salomone – Paint Valley

Cara Tener Tague Scholarship Fund

Garrett Carver – Zane Trace

Chillicothe-Ross Adena Scholarship Fund

Ruth Beery – Adena

Cynthia J.S. Detillion Scholarship Fund

Emily Hanna – Unioto
Taylor Dearth – Unioto
Sage Smith – Unioto

Home Builders of Ross County Scholarship Fund

Natalie Shope – Zane Trace
Rachel Rawlings – Adena
Robert Gillman – SouthEastern

Judge Thomas Bunch Memorial Scholarship Fund

Avery Miller – Unioto

Kim Knapp Morton Scholarship Fund

Hope Garrison – Adena

McCallum Family Scholarship Fund for Chillicothe High School Graduates

Alexander Velazquez – Chillicothe

MZT Spirit Scholarship for Adena High School Graduates

Ruth Beery – Adena
Carter Glandon – Adena
Cheyenne Ater – Adena
Gabriel Stark – Adena
Ellie Harper – Adena
Emily Jones – Adena
Hope Garrison – Adena
Jenna Martin – Adena
Makaela Lovely – Adena
Makenna Lovely – Adena

Roger and Emily Benner Fund for Paint Valley Graduates

McKenzie Anderson – Paint Valley

Scioto Valley Conference Scholarship Fund

Alexis Bailes – Southeastern
Wyatt Fout – Piketon

Virginia Riffle Scholarship Fund

Rachel Mallow – Chillicothe
Aiden Cunningham – Chillicothe

Zane Trace First Class Scholarship Fund

Cecil Roll – Zane Trace

Ohio Jeep Fest Coming To Ross County Fairgrounds

Article presented by Scioto Valley Dumpsters, LTD

The Ross County Agricultural Society in conjunction with Mid Ohio Jeepers Organization presents the 5th annual Ohio Jeep Fest, July 1-3rd.

Every type of Jeep imaginable from all over the country will showing their stuff for the three days they are in Chillicothe.

For more information, CLICK HERE for their website or contact Keith Diehl (740) 253-2328 or Barry Haubeil (740) 703-5778.

Chillicothe Cares Community Day on July 4th

Article presented by Advanced Services Heating & Cooling

July 4th will be a big day for Chillicothe, starting with the Chillicothe Cares Community Day at Bolmer Field in Yoctangee Park, running from noon-6pm on July 4th.

The event will include food trucks, free hot dogs, water and chips, face painting, bounce houses and Touch-A-Truck.

The big Fireworks Show follows later that night, compliments of the Chillicothe Noon Rotary Club and The City of Chillicothe.

Ohioans Permitted To Discharge Fireworks On Special Dates

Presented By Ross-Chillicothe Convention & Visitor’s Bureau

(Columbus) – A new law allows Ohioans to legally discharge fireworks on certain holidays. Ohioans can legally discharge 1.4G consumer fireworks in Ohio on certain days unless the relevant political subdivision has chosen to ban their use.  Under previous law, individuals could purchase consumer-grade fireworks in Ohio but had to transport them out of state within 48 hours.

Here’s a breakdown of what you can and can’t do under the new law.

When can Ohioans discharge fireworks?

Beginning July 2022, unless limited by local laws, Ohioans can discharge consumer fireworks on the following dates and times:

  • July 3, 4, and 5, and the weekends immediately before and after (4 p.m.-11 p.m.)
  • Labor Day weekend (4 p.m.-11 p.m.)
  • Diwali (4 p.m.-11 p.m.)
  • New Year’s Eve (4 p.m.-11:59 p.m.)
  • New Year’s Day (12 a.m.-1 a.m.; 4 p.m.-11 p.m.)
  • Chinese New Year (4 p.m.-11 p.m.)
  • Cinco de Mayo (4 p.m.-11 p.m.)
  • Memorial Day weekend (4 p.m.-11 p.m.)
  • Juneteenth (4 p.m.-11 p.m.)

Where can fireworks be discharged?

Consumers can discharge fireworks on their own property or on another person’s property if the owner of that property has given express permission for fireworks to be discharged. 

Ohioans must discharge fireworks properly

Ohio Revised Code (R.C.) § 3743.45 (as effective July 1, 2022) and Ohio Fire Code (OFC) § 5626(effective July 3, 2022) apply and can be read in their entirety via the links provided.  Relevant OFC provisions outline how 1.4G consumer fireworks must be used and stored by consumers.  Some provisions in the rules include:

  • No person under the age of 18 is permitted to handle or discharge fireworks.
  • Persons under the age of 18 cannot be within 150 feet of the discharge point of aerial fireworks.
  • No person can use fireworks while in possession or control of, or under the influence of, any intoxicating liquor, beer, or controlled substance. A person who violates this is guilty of a first-degree misdemeanor.
  • Aerial devices cannot be discharged within 150 feet of spectators (this includes aerial shells, roman candles, cakes, and bottle rockets).
  • Non-aerial devices cannot be discharged within 50 feet of spectators (this includes fountains, firecrackers, and ground effect devices).

Note: These separation distances – for both aerial and non-aerial devices – are increased for certain types of locations such as hospitals, schools, healthcare and residential facilities, apartment and multi-tenant buildings, military installations and railroads. 

  • No person can store in excess of 125 pounds (net weight of pyrotechnic composition) of fireworks unless they have additional safety measures and safeguards in place for such storage.
  • Fireworks cannot be discharged indoors.
  • Fireworks cannot be aimed at or discharged toward any person or object (such as buildings).
  • Fireworks cannot be discharged on public property or private school property.
  • Fireworks cannot be discharged if drought conditions exist or in an area where a red flag warning is in place or other weather hazard exists. 

Where can Ohioans buy fireworks?

Only fireworks purchased in Ohio may be discharged in Ohio. Consumers may purchase fireworks from any of the licensed sales locations throughout the state. When purchasing fireworks, the retailer must provide consumers with safety glasses (for free or at a nominal charge) and with a safety pamphlet. 

Can local officials stop Ohioans from discharging fireworks?

As part of the new law, any political subdivision may opt-out of allowing the ability to discharge within their limits so discuss with your local officials the best course of action for your jurisdiction.

The State Fire Marshal provides rules to the public related to the new fireworks law. For a complete look at the new fireworks rules, visit the Division website